The Power of Paint – Hallway Edition

comments 6
Decor / Hall / Landing / London / Painting / Photos / Picture Post

We’ve been in our London flat for about 6 weeks now. If you (me) end up moving into a rented place that needs a bit of love, you (I) feel the need to get everything done as soon as humanly possible. It’s a very different feeling to buying a house and swanning about for 6 months before you pick up a paint brush, because you know your time might be limited to your contract.

What I’m hinting at is that we’ve basically painted every room in the house (apart from the bathroom) already. We’ve removed shelves and put up pictures and made the place feel like home. There are still some things that we need to change, for example the frankly disgusting, dirty blind in the kitchen, but when it comes to the major changes, they’re getting done. We want to enjoy this place while we are paying rent on it, not basically renovate the place and hand it back to a very happy landlord. I’m more than sure small changes will take place over the whole period we live here, but big, expensive stuff needs to be done and out of the way quick smart because this flat is not ours to keep.

The largest (and my personal favourite) space in the flat is the hallway. As we are in the attic of a town house we have our own little stair case once you go through the front door. It makes the flat feel a lot bigger than it really is and it was definitely one of the deciding factors when I viewed it for the first time.

We inherited the hallway in a delightful, grubby shade of Magnolia.

10

photo-1

You can probably see that the ceiling was filthy too, from countless people bashing their heads/furniture on it no doubt. We left the hallway for as long as possible because it was scary and big and seemed like so much work, but one day I got home from work and the grubbiness got to me. I painted all the walls single handedly in one evening, so actually, not too bad! That and I’m the fucking boss when it comes to speedy paint application.

photo-2

I used our favourite Dulux Trade Paint in Swansdown, the same colour we painted most of our house in Manchester. The landlord asked us to keep it neutral (even though he had painted the living room PEA GREEN. Double standards much) and we knew that colour worked perfectly. It feels loads cleaner and brighter now when you walk through the door, and the light from that funny little window doesn’t enhance any horrible marks we were trying to ignore.

And the ceiling, OH the ceiling. I genuinely nearly killed myself about ten times, balancing on stools and leaning over into the abyss of our stair well. I just painted it white but it’s a serious improvement.

photo-4

9

7

There’s still work to be done. You will be able to tell from the picture below that basically all of the doors, door frames, skirtings and the loft hatch need re-painting white. I’d imagine they were white at some point but the constant buses and general dirt from London has got to them and they are now nicotine coloured and are messing with the chi of my nice clean walls.

8

It’s got to be done, but I’m psyching myself up for lucid dreams and headaches from the gloss paint fumes in a small space.

On another side note, that minging entry phone is going! I’m DELIGHTED! Apparently the rest of the building fucking hate theirs too, and also it doesn’t even open the front door, so every time it buzzes I’m filled with dread at the stair-a-thon we are going to have to take part in. Fingers crossed for a white handset.

It’s the little things. And I’m shallow.

6 Comments

  1. Oh my flaming god, you’re decorating your new rented place too?!

    I’ve got a second bedroom and a bathroom that needs a serious facelift. The offer is there for you to put your skills to good use when ever you’re ready…

  2. You can help me find an occasional chair for the 2nd room if you like?! The brief is not too expensive, and not too big. I like wicket style, but open to suggestions.

    P.S. Loving the re-brand too X

  3. Jake says

    As a landlord i’d love to have a tenant like you! Love the colour, although the lightness does make me slightly concerned for longevity. Next property i’ll give it a go and decorate with that instead of magnolia!

    • Haha! Well actually the karma was quite good because the tenants we had in our house were amazing and did crazy things like fix a creaky floor board and leaking radiator without even telling us! Longevity wise it holds up really well – would totally recommend!

Leave a Comment

